The monastery dedicated to St. Ilija (Св. Илија, Sv. Ilija) in village Melnica, Mariovo was built on the initiative of Stale Cheshelkov from village Polchishte, and with the support of the population from Mariovo.
In 1870 the foundations are placed and the construction was completed two years later, in 1872.
When the construction was completed, Miyak craftsmen and painters were called from the village of Tresonche, led by the famous Avram Dichov, son of the famous Dicho Painter (Zograf), the legend of 19th century.
The monastery is built in a picturesque part of Mariovo, close to the village Melnica, which today does not exist because of the immigration of the villagers.
It had been erected by the Buturica River and the road which leads to the villages of Vitolishte, Polchishte, and Beshishte. Because of the natural beauties, the clean air, and the clean spring mountain drinking water this monastery was the favorite holiday resort for the Metropolitan Grigorie from Pelagonia.
The village of Melnica is the birthplace of the writer Stale Popov the author of the novels "Krpen Zivot" (Patched Life) and "Kales Angja".
The monastery church
Category: Churches and Monasteries