You are currently viewing Macedonia FAQ

Macedonia FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions about Macedonia

Where is Macedonia?

The Republic of Macedonia is located in the central part of the Balkan peninsula in South-East Europe. Macedonia is surrounded by land from all sides and it borders with Serbia and Kosovo from North, Greece from South, Bulgaria from East, Albania from West.

Geo-coordinates: 40º51’16” / 42º22’21” N        20º27’32” / 22º18’04” E


What is the area of Macedonia?

25.713 km2 (equals 6% of the territory of EU-25). Hills and mountains occupy 80 % of the territory of the Republic of Macedonia, plains 18% and natural lakes 2 % of the total area. Macedonia can roughly be divided into three areas: East Macedonia, Central Macedonia or Povardarie and West Macedonia.

What is the number of population in Macedonia?

  • 2 059 794 people according to the census in 2002 year

Official languages in Macedonia

Macedonian and Albanian are the two main and official languages. Apart from Macedonian and Albanian, in Macedonia officially are recognized five national minority languages: Turkish, Romani, Serbian, Bosnian, and Aromanian.

The Macedonian Sign Language is the country’s official sign language.

Capital of Macedonia:

  • Skopje

Type of Government:

  • Parliamentary republic

Currency in Macedonia:

  • Macedonian denar (MKD)

Driving side in Macedonia:

  • right

Time in Macedonia:

CET (UTC+1)  / Summer (DST) CEST(UTC+2)

Calling code for Macedonia:


Internet TLD