St. George the Victorious Monastery
This female monastery is part of the Bigorski monastery complex.
The monastery church and quarters were built in 1835.
In the church, there is a wood carved iconostasis, made in the same year, on which is engraved a cross with Christ’s crucifixion dating from the 16th century.
In the church, there are parts of the remains of the hand of St George. The remains of Saint George from the 4th century are embedded in gold-plated silver in the form of a hand.
Probably the most important characteristic of this monastery is the handmade work of the monastic sisterhood. In silence and through praying, the nuns make unique, high-quality Orthodox priests’ crowns called “mitri”.
Each creation is in compliance with the embroidery style and the color of the clothing that the bishop will wear.
This monastery is the only place in Macedonia where “mitri” are created, and the created masterpieces are sought by Orthodox churches around the world.